Publications

We continuously deal with the current topics and challenges of our focus industries – we are happy to provide you with our thesis papers and studies, please contact us:

presse@sandb-strategy.com 
+49 (0) 89 200 60 125

Halal Food in Germany

Current relevance, trends and opportunities for investors

August 2020

Learn more
  • Today, it is impossible to imagine German city centers without ethnic supermarkets. But what is the relevance of halal products and where are potentials for the next years, especially for investors?
  • In this short analysis, S&B Strategy has examined the market segment ‘halal’ with regard to its current size and the expected growth until 2024. The focus was on identifying the underlying drivers and defining the channels with the greatest potential. Furthermore, relevant national and international competitors were segmented along the value chain and conclusions for investors were developed.
  • It becomes clear that the halal segment will play an increasing role in the German market, on the one hand due to a growing Muslim population, on the other hand due to trends like the demand for increasing transparency and sustainability as well as the development of halal as a lifestyle. In the classic food retail sector, halal products are currently leading a niche existence, while increasing sales are expected in wholesale and discount stores. In addition to the high market growth, the high degree of fragmentation of the competitive field is one of the main reasons for the segment’s attractiveness for investors, which in our opinion will lead to increasing takeovers in this area in the coming years.

New playing rules in the construction industry

Transformation Agenda 2030 for companies in the construction supply industry

June 2020

Learn more
  • The current COVID 19 crisis presents many companies with great challenges through no fault of their own, which are accompanied by enormous losses in turnover and profit. The global lockdown has brought the economy to a standstill around the globe, while at the same time the pandemic is leading to new patterns of behaviour among customers and Decision-maker level.
  • Even before the pandemic, the construction industry was already undergoing a fundamental change process, which was triggered by digitalisation, the lack of skilled workers and increasing requirements for energy efficiency. COVID-19 now further accelerates this transformation process.
  • In the next decade, the change the entire value chain of the construction and construction supply industry more than at any time in the past 70 years. Digital processes and the digital building envelopes are becoming the standard, consolidation is being massively accelerated, sales and logistics concepts are changing fundamentally and energy-efficient products, systems and solutions are being promoted significantly as customer needs continue to change.
  • This turns the requirements for successful business models in the construction supply industry upside down – the success factors of the 2020s will differ significantly from those of the past few years. That’s why we at S&B Strategy have formulated five theses for companies in the construction supply industry and transformed them into a Transformation Agenda 2030. In it, we discuss the central drivers that affect the market, customers and competitors and show success factors and fields of action for companies.

Comeback champions of the German construction industry

S&B Strategy Ranking 2020

June 2020

Learn more
  • The current COVID 19 crisis is presenting many companies with major challenges through no fault of their own, which are being met with enormous sales and losses in yield. What path must affected companies take to successfully overcome this crisis? In this study, S&B Strategy examined 3,287 companies in the German construction industry and identified those players, who, after a crisis, have managed to regain their position among the top performers in their industry in terms of sales and earnings.
  • The aim of the study was to identify the success factors for successfully repositioning the company’s own business model and achieving a “sales turnaround” while maintaining a stable earnings situation. The S&B Strategy team identified those patterns of action with which “comeback champions” in the German construction industry have made the “comeback” in terms of sales and earnings after negative external effects (e.g. slumps in sales markets, fluctuations in raw material prices, new customer requirements, etc.), by means of an adapted strategic objective and a skills architecture derived from this, have made the “comeback” in terms of sales and earnings.
  • It is clear that, in addition to their clear positioning and the market development derived from it, these companies have also been able to
    service offers show one thing above all: Data-based work, stringency of action and perseverance.

Deal Locator Construction industry

Assessment of the attractiveness of sub-segments in the German construction industry

May 2020

Learn more
  • The German construction industry is undergoing the greatest transformation process of the last 70 years. The European Union’s Climate Protection Plan 2050, which aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 80 to 95% by 2050 compared to 1990, requires new concepts in the planning and expansion of buildings and infrastructure in the coming years. In addition, the digitization of the construction industry, by reducing the complexity of planning, processes and products, will allow increasingly faster and simpler construction projects, which will lead to a break-up of the classic three-stage sales process. The current COVID-19 crisis is acting as a turbocharger for these overarching trends: The increased consolidation associated with the crisis will lead to more harmonization, efficiency pressure and direct sales. Expected “green recovery” economic stimulus programs will favor companies that offer solutions for climate-neutral construction even more – especially in the area of building renovation.
  • The construction industry therefore offers an attractive playing field for strategic investments: Both for more passive strategies that exploit attractive market dynamics and for more active strategies that focus on buy & build, platforms or profitability increases.
    Nevertheless, there are risks – traditionally strong sub-segments in the construction industry will become less important in the future, as their business models do not meet market trends, or the potential offered by digitization and climate-neutral construction is comparatively low.
  • The S&B Strategy Team has therefore divided the German construction industry into the relevant sub-segments and examined them for their attractiveness, in order to then analyze them for the applicability of three different investment strategies. The result shows that there are exciting growth and profitability opportunities for investors on the manufacturer, retail and construction side, which cannot be exploited by acquiring pure “technology players” alone.
  • The construction industry is therefore an attractive breeding ground for genuine value creation. Each individual sub-segment has different dynamics and must naturally be segmented and analyzed in more detail in the next step. The following study should therefore be seen as an approach for the investment driven analysis of the construction industry.
.

Lock down or fast recovery?

Effects of the COVID-19 virus on the construction supply and food industries

March 2020

Learn more
  • S&B Strategy surveyed companies along the value chain from their own target industries as well as health experts on the current drivers and effects of the COVID-19 crisis. Based on this, the team of S&B Strategy examined and summarized the three most likely scenarios, their drivers and effects on the economy. Within the respective scenarios, challenges and recommendations for action for the food and construction supply industry were derived
  • The COVID-19 disease represents a significant risk for social life and therefore affects the business activities of companies.
  • The global spread of the virus can be divided into 5 phases and varies from country to country. Germany and Europe are currently in the most critical phase of development.
  • Depending on the characteristics of the virus itself and the measures taken by the authorities to contain it, a V, U or L scenario can be assumed. While the V scenario allows a “return to normality” in just a few weeks, the L scenario leads to a global recession with significant effects on German manufacturers.
  • For manufacturers, depending on the scenario, there are low to high effects on the availability of raw materials and components, the demand side and internal business processes. In addition, customers’ purchasing behavior is changing.
  • Manufacturers can protect themselves by adapting to the various scenarios, detailing a turnaround case, implementing COVID-19 containment plans and using free resources for the elaboration and implementation of “leftover issues” – both internally and in market development.
.

Challenges in building services engineering

Challenges and solution approaches in market development for manufacturers of building technology

February 2020

Learn more
  • The market for building services engineering is in a state of upheaval, driven by the broad digitalisation of the building envelope and increasing demands on products and services
  • In the field of building preparation and execution, installation companies are suffering above all from increasing bureaucracy, staff shortages and increasingly complex products
  • Due to the complexity and lack of personnel, consolidation will increase considerably and further strengthen the importance of large installers as customers
  • Manufacturers who segment their customer groups in greater detail and align their service portfolio more closely to their needs will achieve superior competitive advantages in the future

Growth Drivers Convenience Food

Opportunities and challenges for manufacturers

January 2020

Learn more
  • Convenience Food Sales have been rising since 2010 due to changes in consumer behaviour – higher quality and traceability of ingredients offer future growth potential
  • Companies with clear positioning and active backing of “healthy claims” show above-average sales and EBITDA growth
  • The requirements regarding transparency in the value chain are increasing – manufacturers who can map this internally and at the customer’s premises create consumer confidence
  • Differentiation is mandatory to escape price competition – “healthy claims” and brand development with retailers are essential levers

Opportunities through the digitalisation of the building envelope

Differentiation potentials of the construction supply manufacturers by using the current user trends

December 2019

Learn more
  • S&B Strategy has surveyed over 300 users in Germany along all construction trades about their current challenges. In particular, the requirements for the installation through Building Information Modeling (BIM), Drop Shipment and lack of personnel were highlighted. The aim of the survey was to work out derivations for the manufacturers of the construction supply industry in the segments of construction materials/construction chemistry, construction elements, technical building equipment (TGA) and service/planning and to formulate solution approaches based on these.
  • While the digitalisation of the building envelope is progressing at a slower pace in the north, users in southern Germany are less trade-oriented. TGA users are most affected by the growing complexity, all players would like more comprehensive support from the manufacturers..
  • For manufacturers in the building supply industry, there is new sales and margin potential, which can be exploited by more active market development. Understanding the relevant customer groups and their needs in purchasing and, above all, in application are central to this.
  • Manufacturers must pursue a pull approach with clearly defined omni-channel sales instead of a pure trade push logic. Concepts for direct on-time delivery to construction sites as well as extensive additional services and tools for planners and tradespeople will be central to the market success of manufacturers in the construction supply industry in the coming years.
.

Window industry Germany 2025

Opportunities and recommendations for action in the window industry

October 2019

Learn more
  • Demand for windows remains high in Europe, with growth driven primarily by larger and more demanding geometries and PVC volumes from Poland
  • Price pressure from Eastern Europe and additional demands on logistics and the design of the product portfolio will further increase the pressure on the value chain
  • Eating or being eaten – players who have sluggish processes and do not actively work the market are eliminated from the competition in the medium term
  • The pressure to consolidate along the value chain is increasing, profile manufacturers have the best position due to their concentration and cf. strong bargaining power vis-à-vis suppliers and customers
  • In order to survive in the future competitive arena, large players must grow and consolidate internationally – smaller players can take advantage of this through specialization and focus

Powder keg Technical Building Equipment

How German manufacturers can withstand price and innovation pressure

October 2019

Learn more
  • The market for explosive ordnance clearance is experiencing above-average and sustained growth , driven by public awareness, positive construction activity and a continued rise in prices
  • The national harmonization of standards on the one hand and the shortage of personnel as well as an increasing price war on the other hand will lead to a consolidation of the market in the future
  • The entry of financial investors and civil engineering companies into the segment will further strengthen the consolidation tendencies
  • Players without a clear regional, skill or application-based positioning will leave the competition in the medium term
  • Smaller players can position themselves as regional specialists, medium and large providers must grow aggressively to ensure full coverage and service excellence

New margin world in the food industry

Effects of consumer trends on the growth and margin potential of food producers

October 2019

Learn more
  • S&B Strategy has examined more than 6,000 companies in the food industry in a total of six sub-segments with regard to their profitability, sales and earnings development. A distinction was made between manufacturers without a specific focus on e.g. organic and “healthy” suppliers, who are clearly positioned and have specialised in e.g. organic, vegan and GMO-free productshat
  • Traditional manufacturers show only low average growth rates of 3.0% p.a. in turnover and 2.8% p.a. in EBITDA in the period 2011-17, specialty suppliers grow by 10% p.a. each
  • Depending on the sub-segments considered, the average EBITDA margin achieved by specialty providers is significantly higher than that of commodity manufacturers. Particularly in the segments milk , fruit and vegetable, and meat processing, specialty suppliers are already achieving sustainably higher margins
  • The key differentiator is the position in the value chain and the focus of consumers. The further away the consumer is from the actual “raw product”, the lower the interest in “healthy” claims
  • A “healthy” positioning of the specialists enables them to largely evade price competition in the retail sector and thus achieve sustainably higher margins. The central criterion for success is clearly positioned brands with which consumer needs can be met in a sustainable and credible manner – organically built or purchased inorganically
  • The food industry is back on the investment map for financial investors. Trends such as the food traffic light will further increase consumer demand for transparency and traceability of raw materials and ingredients. Specialty suppliers meet these requirements and thus offer attractive growth potential.


We create True.Values.

Publikationen

Wir beschäftigen uns laufend mit den aktuellen Themen und Herausforderungen unserer Fokusbranchen – gerne stellen wir Ihnen unsere Thesenpapiere und Studien zur Verfügung, sprechen Sie uns an:

presse@sandb-strategy.com 
+49 (0) 89 200 60 125

Halal Food in Deutschland

Aktuelle Relevanz, Trends und Chancen für Investoren

August 2020

Mehr erfahren
  • Ethnische Supermärkte sind in deutschen Innenstädten heute nicht mehr wegzudenken. Doch welche Relevanz haben halal-Produkte und wo liegen Potentiale für die nächsten Jahre, insbesondere für Investoren?
  • In der vorliegenden Kurzanalyse hat S&B Strategy das Marktsegment ‚halal‘ hinsichtlich seiner aktuellen Größe sowie des zu erwarteten Wachstums bis 2024 untersucht. Im Fokus standen dabei die Identifikation der dahinter liegenden Treiber sowie die Definition der Kanäle mit dem größten Potential. Weiterhin wurden entlang der Wertschöpfungskette relevante nationale und internationale Wettbewerber segmentiert und daraus Ableitungen für Investoren entwickelt.
  • Dabei wird deutlich, dass das halal-Segment eine zunehmende Rolle im deutschen Markt spielen wird, zum einen durch eine wachsende muslimische Bevölkerung, zum anderen durch Trends wie die Forderung nach steigender Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit sowie die Entwicklung von halal als Lifestyle. Im klassischen LEH führen halal-Produkte aktuell ein Nischendasein, im Großhandel sowie Discounter wird hingegen mit steigenden Umsätzen gerechnet. Neben dem hohen Marktwachstum sind insbesondere auch der hohe Fragmentierungsgrad des Wettbewerbsfeldes wesentliche Gründe für die Segmentattraktivität für Investoren, was aus unserer Sicht in den kommenden Jahren zu wachsenden Übernahmen in diesem Bereich führen wird.

Neue Spielregeln in der Bauindustrie

Transformationsagenda 2030 für Unternehmen der Bauzulieferindustrie

Juni 2020

Mehr erfahren
  • Die aktuelle COVID-19-Krise stellt viele Unternehmen unverschuldet vor große Herausforderungen, die mit enormen Umsatz- und Ertragseinbußen einhergehen. Der globale Lockdown hat die Wirtschaft um den gesamten Erdball zum Erliegen gebracht, gleichzeitig führt die Pandemie zu neuen Verhaltensmustern auf Kunden- und Entscheiderebene.
  • Die Bauindustrie befand sich bereits vor der Pandemie in einem fundamentalen Wandlungsprozess, der durch die Digitalisierung, den Fachkräftemangel sowie steigende Auflagen für die Energieeffizienz angetrieben wird. COVID-19 beschleunigt diesen Wandlungsprozess nun zusätzlich. Im nächsten Jahrzehnt wird sich die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette der Bau- und Bauzulieferindustrie so stark verändern, wie in den vergangenen 70 Jahren nicht: Digitale Prozesse und die digitale Gebäudehülle werden zum Standard, die Konsolidierung wird massiv beschleunigt, Vertriebs- und Logistikkonzepte verändern sich grundlegend und energieeffiziente Produkte, Systeme sowie Lösungen werden erheblich gefördert, während sich die Kundenbedarfe weiter verändern.
  • Dies stellt die Anforderungen an erfolgreiche Geschäftsmodelle in der Bauzulieferindustrie auf den Kopf – die Erfolgsfaktoren der 2020er Jahre werden sich deutlich von denen der vergangenen Jahre unterscheiden. Deshalb haben wir von S&B Strategy fünf Thesen für Unternehmen der Bauzulieferindustrie formuliert und in eine Transformationsagenda 2030 überführt. Darin diskutieren wir die zentralen Treiber, die auf Markt-, Kunden- und Wettbewerbsseite wirken und zeigen Erfolgsfaktoren und Handlungsfelder für Unternehmen auf.

Comeback-Champions der deutschen Bauindustrie

S&B Strategy Ranking 2020

Juni 2020

Mehr erfahren
  • Die aktuelle COVID-19-Krise stellt viele Unternehmen unverschuldet vor große Herausforderungen, die mit enormen Umsatz- und Ertragseinbußen einhergehen. Welchen Weg müssen betroffene Unternehmen gehen, um diese Krise erfolgreich zu meistern?
  • In der vorliegenden Studie hat S&B Strategy 3.287 Unternehmen der deutschen Bauindustrie untersucht und diejenigen Spieler identifiziert, welchen es nach einer Krise gelungen ist, wieder zu den umsatz- und ertragsseitigen Aufsteigern ihrer Branche zu gehören.
  • Ziel der Studie war es, die Erfolgsfaktoren zu identifizieren, um das eigene Geschäftsmodell erfolgreich zu repositionieren und einen „Umsatz-Turnaround“ bei zeitgleich stabiler Ertragslage zu erzielen. Das Team von S&B Strategy hat diejenigen Handlungsmuster herausgearbeitet, mit denen „Comeback-Champions“ der deutschen Bauindustrie nach negativen externen Effekten (z.B. Einbrüchen von Absatzmärkten, Schwankungen von Rohstoffpreisen, neue Kundenanforderungen etc.), durch eine angepasste strategische Zielsetzung und einer daraus abgeleiteten Fähigkeitenarchitektur, das umsatz- sowie ertragsseitige „Comeback“ geschafft haben.
  • Dabei wird deutlich, dass diese Unternehmen neben einer klaren Positionierung und der daraus abgeleiteten Marktbearbeitung sowie Leistungsangeboten vor allem eines zeigen: Datenbasiertes Arbeiten, Handlungsstringenz und Beharrlichkeit.

Deal Locator | Bauindustrie

Attraktivitätsbewertung der Subsegmente in der deutschen Bauindustrie

Mai 2020

Mehr erfahren
  • Die deutsche Bauindustrie befindet sich im größten Transformationsprozess der letzten 70 Jahre. Der Klimaschutzplan 2050 der Europäischen Union, die Treibhausgasemissionen bis 2050 um 80 bis 95% gegenüber dem Jahr 1990 zu senken, erfordert in den kommenden Jahren neue Konzepte in der Planung und dem Ausbau von Gebäuden und Infrastruktur. Darüber hinaus erlaubt die Digitalisierung der Bauindustrie durch Reduktion der planungs-, prozess- und produktseitigen Komplexität zunehmend schnellere und einfachere Bauprojekte, was zum Aufbrechen des klassischen dreistufigen Vertriebs führt. Die aktuelle COVID-19 Krise wirkt hier als Turbolader dieser übergeordneten Trends: Die mit der Krise einhergehende verstärkte Konsolidierung wird zu mehr Harmonisierung, Effizienzdruck und Direktvertrieb führen. Zu erwartende „Green Recovery“ Konjunkturprogramme werden Unternehmen noch stärker begünstigen, die Lösungen für klimaneutrales Bauen anbieten – vor allem im Bereich der Gebäudesanierung.
  • Daher bietet die Bauindustrie ein attraktives Spielfeld für strategische Investitionen: Sowohl für eher passive Strategien, die attraktive Marktdynamiken nutzen, als auch für aktivere Strategien, die auf Buy & Build, Plattformen oder Profitabilitätssteigerungen fokussiert sind.
    Trotzdem gibt es Risiken – traditionell starke Subsegmente in der Bauindustrie verlieren in Zukunft an Bedeutung, da ihre Geschäftsmodelle den Markttrends nicht gerecht werden bzw. Potentiale durch Digitalisierung und dem klimaneutralen Bau vergleichsweise gering ausfallen.
  • Das S&B Strategy Team hat deshalb die deutsche Bauindustrie in die relevanten Subsegmente unterteilt und diese auf ihre Attraktivität hin untersucht, um sie dann auf die Anwendbarkeit dreier unterschiedlicher Investmentstrategien zu analysieren. Das Ergebnis zeigt, dass für Investoren sowohl auf Hersteller-, Handels- aber auch Bauausführungsseite spannende Wachstums- und Profitabilitätschancen bestehen, welche nicht nur durch die Akquise reiner „Technologiespieler“ gehoben werden können.
  • Somit ist die Bauindustrie ein attraktiver Nährboden für echte Value Creation. Jedes einzelne Subsegment weist in sich unterschiedliche Dynamiken auf und muss naturgemäß in einem nächsten Schritt detaillierter segmentiert und analysiert werden. Die folgende Studie ist deshalb als Annäherung für die investmentgetriebene Analyse der Bauindustrie zu verstehen.
.

Lock down oder schnelle Erholung

Auswirkungen des COVID-19 Virus auf die Bauzuliefer- und Nahrungsmittelindustrie

März 2020

Mehr erfahren
  • S&B Strategy hat Unternehmen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette aus den eigenen Zielbranchen sowie Gesundheitsexperten zu den aktuellen Treibern und Auswirkungen der COVID-19 Krise befragt. Darauf aufbauend hat das Team von S&B Strategy die drei wahrscheinlichsten Szenarien, deren Treiber und Effekte für die Wirtschaft näher beleuchtet und zusammengefasst. Innerhalb der jeweiligen Szenarien wurden Herausforderungen und Handlungsempfehlungen für die Nahrungsmittel- und Bauzulieferindustrie abgeleitet
  • Die COVID-19 Erkrankung stellt ein erhebliches Risiko für das gesellschaftliche Leben dar und wirkt sich deshalb gleichsam auf die Geschäftstätigkeit der Unternehmen aus.
  • Die globale Ausbreitung des Virus kann nach 5 Phasen unterschieden werden und ist je Land unterschiedlich ausgeprägt. Deutschland und Europa befinden sich zur Zeit in der kritischsten Phase der Entwicklung.
  • Je nach Eigenschaften des Virus selbst und den Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung seitens der Behörden kann von einem V-, einem U- oder L-Szenario ausgegangen werden. Während das V-Szenario eine „Rückkehr zur Normalität“ bereits in wenigen Wochen erlaubt, führt das L-Szenario in eine globale Rezession mit erheblichen Auswirkungen auf deutsche Hersteller.
  • Für Hersteller ergeben sich je nach Szenario geringe bis hohe Effekte seitens der Verfügbarkeit von Rohwaren und Komponenten, der Nachfrageseite und der internen Geschäftsprozesse. Zusätzlich ist verändertes Kaufverhalten seitens der Kunden erkennbar.
  • Hersteller können sich schützen, indem sie sich auf die unterschiedlichen Szenarien einstellen, einen Turn-Around Case detaillieren, COVID-19 Containment Pläne implementieren und freie Ressourcen für die Ausarbeitung und Implementierung „liegen gebliebener Themen“ – sowohl intern als auch in der Marktbearbeitung – nutzen.

Herausforderungen in der Gebäudetechnik

Herausforderungen und Lösungsansätze in der Marktbearbeitung für Gebäudetechnik-Hersteller

Februar 2020

Mehr erfahren
  • Der Markt für Gebäudetechnik befindet sich im Umbruch, getrieben durch die breite Digitalisierung der Gebäudehülle und steigende Anforderungen an Produkte und Services
  • In der Bauvorbereitung und -ausführung leiden Installationsbetriebe vor allem an der zunehmenden Bürokratie, dem Personalmangel und immer komplexeren Produkten
  • Durch die Komplexität und den Personalmangel wird die Konsolidierung erheblich ansteigen und die Bedeutung großer Installateure als Kunden noch weiter stärken
  • Um überleben zu können, fordern v.a. mittelgroße Installationsbetriebe zunehmend Unterstützung sowohl in der Installationsvorbereitung als auch –ausführung von Herstellern
  • Hersteller, die ihre Kundengruppen detaillierter segmentieren und ihr Leistungsportfolio stärker an deren Bedarfe ausrichten, werden in Zukunft überlegene Wettbewerbsvorteile erzielen

Wachstumstreiber Convenience Food

Chancen und Herausforderungen für Hersteller

Januar 2020

Mehr erfahren
  • Convenience Food Umsätze steigen seit 2010 durch verändertes Konsumverhalten – höhere Qualität und Nachverfolgbarkeit der Inhaltsstoffe bieten in Zukunft Wachstumspotential
  • Unternehmen mit klarer Positionierung und aktivem Belegen von „healthy claims“ weisen überdurchschnittliches Umsatz- und EBITDA-Wachstum auf
  • Die Anforderungen hinsichtlich der Transparenz in der Wertschöpfungskette steigen – Hersteller, die diese intern und beim Kunden abbilden können schaffen Vertrauen beim Konsumenten
  • Um weiteres Wachstum zu realisieren sind Hersteller in der Pflicht, Konzepte außerhalb des traditionellen LEH- und Fachhandels zu erarbeiten
  • Differenzierung ist Pflicht, um dem Preiswettbewerb zu entkommen – „healthy claims“ und die Markenentwicklung mit dem Handel sind wesentliche Hebel

Chancen durch die Digitalisierung der Gebäudehülle

Differenzierungspotentiale der Bauzuliefer-Hersteller durch Nutzung der aktuellen Anwendertrends

Dezember 2019

Mehr erfahren
  • S&B Strategy hat über 300 Anwender in Deutschland entlang aller bauausführenden Gewerke hinsichtlich ihrer aktuellen Herausforderungen befragt. Dabei wurden vor allem die Anforderungen an die Installation durch Building Information Modeling (BIM), Drop Shipment und Personalmangel beleuchtet. Ziel der Befragung war es, Ableitungen für die Hersteller der Bauzulieferindustrie in den Segmenten Baustoffe/ Bauchemie, Bauelemente, Technische Gebäudeausrüstung (TGA) und Service/ Planung herauszuarbeiten und darauf basierend Lösungsansätze zu formulieren.
  • Die Digitalisierung der Gebäudehülle und die damit einhergehende Konsolidierung des Handwerks wird den drei-stufigen Vertrieb durch flexible Preis- und Logistikkonzepte wie On-Time-Baustellenanlieferung nachhaltig verändern.
  • Der Handel wird von Planern und vom Handwerk zunehmend als Bremsklotz der Entwicklung wahrgenommen. Beide wünschen sich mehr Unterstützung seitens der Hersteller hinsichtlich BIM und Produktanwendung.
  • Während die Digitalisierung der Gebäudehülle im Norden in geringerer Ausprägung voranschreitet, sind Anwender im Süden Deutschlands weniger handelsaffin. Anwender der TGA sind am stärksten von der wachsenden Komplexität betroffen, sämtliche Spieler wünschen sich eine umfassendere Unterstützung durch die Hersteller.
  • Für Hersteller der Bauzulieferindustrie ergeben sich neue Umsatz- und Margenpotentiale, welche durch eine aktivere Marktbearbeitung gehoben werden können. Das Verständnis der relevanten Kundengruppen und deren Bedarfe im Einkauf und vor allem in der Anwendung sind hierbei zentral.
  • Hersteller müssen statt einer reinen Handels-Push-Logik stärker einen Pull-Ansatz mit klar abgegrenztem Omni-Channel Vertrieb verfolgen. Konzepte zur direkten On-Time Baustellenanlieferung sowie umfangreiche, produktergänzende Zusatzservices und Tools für Planer und Handwerk werden in den kommenden Jahren zentral für den Markterfolg der Hersteller in der Bauzulieferindustrie sein.

Fensterindustrie 2025

Opportunitäten und Handlungsempfehlungen in der Fensterbranche

Oktober 2019

Mehr erfahren
  • Die Nachfrage nach Fenstern bleibt in Europa weiterhin hoch, das Wachstum wird vor allem durch größere und anspruchsvollere Geometrien sowie PVC-Volumen aus Polen getrieben
  • Der Preisdruck aus Osteuropa und zusätzliche Anforderungen an Logistik und die Ausgestaltung des Produktportfolios werden den Druck auf die Wertschöpfungskette weiter verstärken
  • Fressen oder gefressen werden – Spieler, die über träge Prozesse verfügen und den Markt nicht aktiv bearbeiten, scheiden mittelfristig aus dem Wettbewerb aus
  • Der Konsolidierungsdruck entlang der Wertschöpfungskette steigt, Profilhersteller verfügen über die beste Position aufgrund ihrer Konzentration und vglw. starker Verhandlungsmacht ggü. Zulieferern und Kunden
  • Um in der zukünftigen Wettbewerbsarena bestehen zu können, müssen große Spieler international wachsen und konsolidieren – kleinere Spieler können dies durch Spezialisierung und Fokussierung ausnutzen

Pulverfass Technische Gebäudeausrüstung (TGA)

Wie deutsche Hersteller dem Preis- und Innovationsdruck standhalten können

Oktober 2019

Mehr erfahren
  • Weiter ansteigender Marktwert, getrieben durch komplexere, vernetzte Produkte und Systeme sowie den Neubau- und Sanierungsdruck
  • Der Preisdruck aus Asien sowie zusätzliche Anforderungen an Logistik und die Ausgestaltung des Produktportfolios werden den Wettbewerbsdruck noch zusätzlich verstärken
  • Die Erosion des dreistufigen Vertriebes und die steigenden Anforderungen im Projektgeschäft (z.B. durch BIM) erfordern schnellere Time to Market Zeiten und flexiblere Vertriebskonzepte
  • Spieler, die über träge Produktentstehungs- und Vertriebsprozesse verfügen und rein das Thekengeschäft des Handels bedienen, können mit der Entwicklung mittelfristig nicht mehr mithalten
  • Um in der zukünftigen Wettbewerbsarena bestehen zu können, sind Hersteller darauf angewiesen, sich entlang ihrer verfügbaren Ressourcen zu spezialisieren oder als Komplettanbieter für Gebäudesysteme zu profilieren

Neue Margenwelt in der Nahrungsmittelindustrie

Auswirkungen von Kosumententrends auf das Wachstums- und Margenpotential von Nahrungsmittelherstellern

Oktober 2019

Mehr erfahren
  • S&B Strategy hat über 6.000 Unternehmen aus der Nahrungsmittelindustrie in insgesamt sechs Sub-Segmenten hinsichtlich ihrer Profitabilität, Umsatz- und Ertragsentwicklung untersucht. Dabei wurde unterschieden zwischen Herstellern ohne spezifischen Fokus auf z.B. Bio und „healthy“ Anbietern, die klar positioniert sind und sich u.a. auf Bio, Vegan und Gentechnikfrei spezialisiert haben
  • Traditionelle Hersteller zeigen im Betrachtungszeitraum zwischen 2011-17 durchschnittlich nur geringe Wachstumsraten von 3,0% p.a. im Umsatz und 2,8% p.a. im EBITDA, Specialty Anbieter wachsen mit jeweils 10% p.a.
  • Abhängig von den betrachteten Sub-Segmenten liegt die durchschnittlich erzielte EBITDA-Marge von Specialty Anbietern deutlich über der von Commodity Herstellern. Insbesondere in den Segmenten Milchverarbeitung, Obst- und Gemüseverarbeitung sowie Fleischverarbeitung erzielen Specialty Anbieter bereits heute nachhaltig deutlich höhere Margen
  • Zentrales Unterscheidungsmerkmal ist die Position in der Wertschöpfungskette sowie der Fokus der Konsumenten. Je weiter der Konsument vom eigentlichen „Rohprodukt“ entfernt ist, desto geringer ist das Interesse an „healthy“ claims
  • Eine „healthy“ Positionierung der Spezialisten ermöglicht diesen sich dem Preiswettbewerb im LEH weitestgehend zu entziehen und so nachhaltig höhere Margen zu realisieren. Zentrales Erfolgskriterium sind klar positionierte Marken, mit denen Konsumentenbedürfnissen nachhaltig und glaubhaft bedient werden können– organisch aufgebaut oder anorganisch gekauft
  • Die Nahrungsmittelindustrie gehört für Finanzinvestoren wieder auf die Investitionslandkarte. Trends wie die Lebensmittelampel werden den Wunsch der Konsumenten nach Transparenz und Nachverfolgbarkeit von Rohstoffen und Zutaten weiter steigern. Specialty Anbieter bedienen diese Anforderungen und bieten dadurch attraktives Wachstumspotential


Wir schaffen Mehr.Werte.